How Instant Sessions work

‘Instant Sessions’ are sessions you can create starting right now. It is important to highlight that such sessions can only be created by you when the client is logged in to their PG account and online now.

To create an Instant Session, go to your Messages page (accessible in your ‘Clients’ drop-down menu). Pick the appropriate client in your client list on the right. To your left, you’ll see your previous messages with this client. Click on the yellow ‘Start a session now’ button beneath these messages and messaging form:

A pop-up window will then appear, in which you can customise the session:

Pick the session type (Video, Voice or Instant Message), pick time (if relevant), expected session duration, and whether you want the client to manually accept the session or not. Then click the ‘Confirm session offer’ button to submit the Instant Session to the client.

If you chose ‘yes’ in ‘Require client confirmation’

The client will immediately first be shown the following type of message in dark blue in their messages stream on their ‘Messages’ page:

The session will not start unless the client clicks to accept the session in that first session request. After the client accepts the session, he/she will receive the “Your session is now ready. Click here to attend.” message. By clicking to attend the session, a session window will then open for the client. The therapist/you will also receive a message with a link to the session. You need to click that to attend the session, which always takes place in a dedicated session window that opens up.

If the client declined the session offer, the therapist/you will see a message in your own messages stream, saying they have declined it:

In that case, the session was not created, so you can’t attend that session. If the client waits too long (over 1 hour) to accept your session offer, the Instant Session will not be created either and the offer will be cancelled automatically.

If you chose ‘yes’ in ‘Require client confirmation’

The client will immediately be shown the following type of message in dark blue in their messages stream on their ‘Messages’ page:

In this message, the client can attend the session immediately via the ‘click here’ link without having to confirm it. You will also receive a message through which you can attend the session:

Session length

There will be a countdown in the session window, timed for the session length you decided on. Don’t worry if the session continues after the countdown ends - the session will go on until you click the red ‘Stop session’ button in the top left corner of your session window:

Attending the session via the Dashboard

Once a session has been confirmed/created, it can also be accessed via both your and your client’s Dashboard in the ‘Upcoming sessions’ section:

If this session doesn’t show immediately on the Dashboard, please refresh the page, and it will then appear.

Simplify your practice with PlusGuidance